

Arizona Peace Officer Standards and Training Board

2643 East University Drive Phoenix, Arizona 85034-6914 Phone (602) 223-2514

NOTICE OF PUBLIC MEETING AND AGENDA April 16, 2025 10:00 a.m.

Board members, staff, agency heads requesting a review, and individuals, or their attorneys, who have a final action review, may attend electronically. Notice must be provided 7 days in advance of the Board meeting in order to present electronically. Otherwise, physical attendance for this meeting is another option. The meeting will be livestreamed and instructions for viewing will be posted on the AZPOST website. Members of the public will have access to the meeting room at 9:30 a.m.

Pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), the Arizona Peace Officer Standards and Training Board endeavors to ensure the accessibility of its meetings to all persons with disabilities. Persons with a disability may request a reasonable accommodation, such as a sign language interpreter, by calling the AZPOST main number at (602) 223-2514. Requests should be made as early as possible to allow time to arrange the accommodation.

Upon a vote of the majority of the quorum, the Board may vote to go into Executive Session pursuant to A.R.S. 38-431.03(A)(3) to receive confidential legal advice from the Board's attorneys regarding any item on this agenda. The chair may take items out of order.

- A. Call to Order and Pledge of Allegiance
- B. Introductions, Presentations and Announcements
- C. Executive Director's Report

The Board may receive updates on any of the following Report items; it may discuss, provide direction or ask questions of the Executive Director on any of these items. The order of the Report is at the discretion of the Executive Director and/or the Chairman and may be revisited at any time during the meeting:

Update on Budget Update on Communications with Law Enforcement Associations, Groups and Agencies Update on Staff and Personnel Issues Legislative Update D. Consent Agenda

The following items make up the Consent Agenda. These items will be considered for approval as a single action, unless a Board member or any other interested party wishes to remove an item to be discussed:

- 1. Approval of Minutes: March 19, 2025 Board Meeting
- 2. Review, discussion and decision on Ministerial Actions. The following ministerial actions have been taken by staff upon Board instruction. By approving these items, the Board adopts and ratifies those actions:
 - a. Consent Agreements for Voluntary Relinquishment/Denial of Peace Officer Certification for the following:

1. 2024-214	Oscar I. Bianculli	Tucson Police Department
2. 2025-014	Craig P. Johnson	Yuma Police Department
3. 2025-037	Michael M. Joseph	Pima County Sheriff's Department

- b. Petitions for Waiver pursuant to R13-4-105(C). The Applicant's only disqualifying conduct is legally consuming marijuana more than six months, but within two years of appointment, in violation of R13-4-105(A)(10):
 - 1. Applicant Dakota C. Farrow
 - 2. Applicant Kaleb Gaytan
 - 3. Applicant Hayden Pearce
 - 4. Applicant Priscilla Florez
 - 5. Applicant Savannah Mott
 - 6. Applicant Riley Harrington
 - 7. Applicant Gary Panttila
 - 8. Applicant Jessica Quinonez

Avondale Police Department Avondale Police Department Avondale Police Department Coolidge Police Department Flagstaff Police Department Pima County Sheriff's Department Pima County Sheriff's Department

- Pima County Sheriff's Department
- c. Training Audit Deficiencies. The following individuals have not yet completed their required annual training for 2024. The Board shall restrict certified status until the required training is completed:
 - 1. Mark Despain
 - 2. John Segler
 - 3. Matthew Bratz
 - 4. Elliott Ness
 - 5. Rebecca York
 - 6. Mitchel Haug
 - 7. Christine Rouff
 - 8. Desmond Branston
 - 9. Jason Weeks
 - 10. James O'Neil

Avondale Police Department Avondale Police Department AZ Department of Public Safety AZ Department of Public Safety AZ Department of Public Safety AZ Game and Fish Department AZ Western College Police Department Buckeye Police Department Buckeye Police Department Chandler Police Department 1 1 1

11.	William Mulliken	Chandler Police Department
12.	Kiedi Dever	Cottonwood Police Department
13.	Jeffrey Palmer	Florence Police Department
14.	Rebecca Ross	Goodyear Police Department
15.	Joshua Minnick	Holbrook Police Department
16.	Bryan Pawesiema	Hopi Resource Enforcement Services
17.	Paul Gunn	Hualapai Nation Police Department
18.	Manuel Gonzalez-Herrera	Kingman Police Department
19.	Robert Shoemake	Lake Havasu City Police Department
20.	Kenneth Smith	Lake Havasu City Police Department
21.	Wade Voeltz	Maricopa County Sheriff's Office
22.	Mary Chenery	Mesa Police Department
23.	Tyson Miller	Mesa Police Department
24.	Monica Adams	Phoenix Police Department
25.	Donald Baniewicz	Phoenix Police Department
26.	Harold Boswell	Phoenix Police Department
27.	Kyle Duffy	Phoenix Police Department
28.	Antonio Felix	Phoenix Police Department
29.	Jeffrey Jakemer	Phoenix Police Department
30.	Amy Josey	Phoenix Police Department
31.	Todd Oliver	Phoenix Police Department
32.	Vincent Durand	Quechan Tribal Police Department
33.	Latasha Hampton	Tempe Police Department
34.	Rashidi Johnson	Tempe Police Department
35.	Drew Nystrom	Tempe Police Department
36.	Timothy Lopez	University of AZ Police Department
37.	Belfew Tortice	White Mountain Apache Police Department
38.	Noe Felix	Yuma County Sheriff's Office
39.	Rebel Hendricks	Yuma Police Department
		-

- E. Review, Discussion and Possible Action on a Petition from the Peoria Police Department pursuant to A.A.C. R13-4-103(G) for Applicant Daniel Cotten.
- F. Review, Discussion and Possible Action on a Petition from the Phoenix Police Department pursuant to A.A.C. R13-4-105(C) for Applicant Sean Holman.
- G. Review, Discussion and Possible Action on a Petition from the Maricopa County Sheriff's Office pursuant to A.A.C. R13-4-105(C) for Applicant Albert Torres.
- H. Review, Discussion and Possible Action on a Petition from the Northern Arizona University Police Department pursuant to A.A.C. R13-4-105(C) for Applicant Alexis Taylor.
- I. Review, Discussion and Possible Action regarding the adoption of proposed revisions to the current AZPOST lesson plan regarding High Risk Vehicle Stops. This will include a short presentation by AZPOST staff.

J. <u>Final Action Cases – Review, Discussion and Decision</u> (An Independent Legal Advisor will be available for all Final Action Cases)

Accept, Reject or Modify the proposed Consent Agreements in the following case:

1.	2024-224	Jacob F. Keah-Tigh	Navajo Division of Public Safety
2.	2024-238	Warren K. Jackson Jr.	Phoenix Police Department

Accept, Reject or Modify the proposed Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law and vote on appropriate disposition in the following case:

3. 2024-304 Mark A. Booth Pima County Sheriff's Department

K. <u>New Cases - Review</u>, Discussion and Decision

- 2024-302 Tyler D. Lozinski
 2024-326 Timothy H. Clark
 2024-327 Timothy H. Clark
 2024-344 Brandon T. Friday
 2024-171 Louie A. Azevedo
 2024-170 Jacob K. Viviano
 2024-298 Jorge Bautista
 2024-295 Carlos Lopez
 2024 Los C. Vissa Londo
- 9. 2024-198 Jose C. Vega-Jordan
- Pinal County Sheriff's Office Phoenix Police Department Yuma Police Department Yuma County Sheriff's Office Glendale Police Department

- L. Future Agenda Items
- M. Adjournment

A copy of the agenda provided to the Board members is available for public inspection, at least 24 hours prior to the meeting, at the Arizona Peace Officer Standards and Training Board office, 2643 East University Drive, Phoenix, AZ.

Dated: April 8, 2025

By:

ARIZONA PEACE OFFICER STANDARDS AND TRAINING BOARD

Mtt 1

Matt Giordano, Executive Director