Board Members

Mark Dannels
Cochise County Sheriff's Office Chairman
Doug Schuster
Mohave County Sheriff's Office
Jeffrey Glover
Arizona Department of Public Safety
Kris Mayes
Arizona Attorney General
Ryan Thornell
Arizona Department of Corrections Rehabilitation and Reentry
Public Member
Arizona State University
Public Member
Coconino County Sheriff's Office
Benjamin Cook
Pinal County Sheriff's Office
Tempe Police Department
About Us
Our History

The Arizona Peace Officer Standards and Training Board was originally comprised of nine members, appointed by the Governor. The Board included two sheriffs, two chiefs of police, a college faculty member in public administration or a related field, the state attorney general, the director of the Department of Public Safety, and two public members.

In 1977, the statutes were revised to require one sheriff from a county with a population exceeding 200,000 and one sheriff from a county with a population less than 200,000. Additionally, one police chief was to be from a city with a population exceeding 60,000 and one from a city with a population less than 60,000.

In 1984, Board membership was expanded with the addition of the director of the Arizona Department of Corrections and an administrator of a county or municipal correctional facility. The number of members serving on the Board rose to thirteen in 1991, when the legislature added two additional members holding the rank of patrol officer or sergeant. It was specified that one of the two new members was to be from a city police agency and the other from a sheriff’s office. Today, the composition of the Board remains as established in 1991, with 13 members.